Before I even started listening to this collection of wall-shaking anthems, I had read the press release that accompanied Full Blast Fuckery about five times and had built up this mental image that Wilson were the coolest, baddest, craziest band on the planet. They’re described as “five dudes with beards and big dicks” and when you hear the pissed-up, smashed off their tits rock n’ roll on Full Blast Fuckery, like me, you’ll wish that they were your best mates, your brothers, and your drinking partners all rolled into one.

Full Blast Fuckery is the soundtrack to the best party you could only dream of. It’s trashy, it’s fuelled by cheap alcohol, even cheaper women and the loudest, filthiest sounds you could ever wish for. Full Blast Fuckery is 80’s hair metal brawling with punk rock while thrash metal shouts drunkenly from the sides. From the outset, “My Life Grave” sets the tone with its sprawling, energy fuelled riffs and fuck-you attitude. Oh Christ, that attitude!

Every moment of this record reeks of it. It’s an attitude that has left towns flattened as the quintet look forward to the next unwitting victims. It’s also an attitude that most bands could never, ever achieve and gives songs like “College Gangbang” a gritty, trashy edge. This is what bands like Skid Row and WASP sounded like before they grew up and grew old. Big vocals, big choruses, big guitars and big attitudes. Full Blast Fuckery is a trouble-making, loud, obnoxious rock n’ roll record just the way all rock n’ roll records should be.

In an age when bands are pointlessly hyped up by their labels in the vain hope that they can muster up enough interest in the apathetic music downloading public to shift a few MP3s, bands like Wilson don’t need to believe the hype. Their music, their live show, their attitude will be a hit with genuine music fans of honest bands who don’t need to fake their Facebook “likes” or YouTube views. Like their press release said, get ready for Wilson because when they hit your town, shit will get real!

Track Listing:

01. My Life My Grave
02. Better Off (Strictly Doods)
03. Passing On The Left
04. College Gangbang
05. Snake Eyes
06. I Can Beat Your Dad
07. Viking Pussies Fuck Off
08. If You Ever LeaveIWillFindYou
09. Susan Jane
10. Live in Corpus Christi

Run Time: 38:59
Release Date: July 9, 2013

Check out the song “College Gangbang”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.