Eponym is the newest release from the UK-based metal act PseudoNympho. I was initially intrigued by the name (it’s pretty killer I think), so I decided to give it a listen and what I found was quite impressive. Eponym is a heavy affair with hints of early Alice In Chains and some of the heavier Seattle bands of the ‘90s, plus a healthy dose of punk thrown in for good measure.

Clean and melodic classic metal vocals are layered over some of the best, dirty, grungy guitar tones I have heard in a long while resulting in what I think is a pretty cool listen. Many of the tracks are radio friendly with catchy hooks, anthemic choruses, and blistering guitar leads to boot. Don’t let the intimidating, odd-titled songs throw you off because this is a really solid record that I am totally digging at the moment. Check out PseudoNympho if you’re looking for something a little off the beaten path.

Track Listing:

01. Apotheosis
02. Accident Of Birth
03. Pathetic Island Fallacy
04. Zaphod Beeblebrox’s Morbid Prophecy
05. Sunshine And Lollipops
06. Buried Alive
07. Lunch
08. Big Enough For Rehab
09. The Air Is Thick With A Palpable Miasma Of Willful Ignorance
10. Matryoshka
11. Educate Yourself
12. Bombs Fall Backwards
13. Ugly Inside

Run Time: 50:06
Release Date: August 12, 2013

Check out the song “Accident Of Birth”