The Skinny: Last week saw the announcement of London-based progressive metallers The Safety Fire’s forthcoming sophomore album, Mouth of Swords, and the band is now excited to reveal the first track to be taken from said album. Entitled “Red Hatchet”, this is the first taste of new music since the band’s debut album Grind The Ocean was released last year.

Guitarist and producer Derya “Dez” Nagle had this to say about the track: “We are so excited we can finally share some new music with everyone. We are all so incredibly proud of this album and feel ‘Red Hatchet’ is a great introduction to ‘Mouth Of Swords’. Get hyped, stay ajeysie.” Mouth Of Swords is set to be released on September 2nd in Europe and September 3rd in North America via InsideOut Music. See below for the album’s track-listing.

Mouth Of Swords Track Listing:

01. Mouth Of Swords
02. Glass Crush
03. Yellowism
04. Beware The Leopard (Jagwar) feat. Tommy Rogers (Between the Buried and Me)
05. Red Hatchet
06. Wise Hands
07. The Ghosts That Wait For Spring
08. I Am Time, The Destroyer
09. Old Souls


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.