Download Now

From System and Station’s long-awaited new album comes the song “Fools” – here completely free for download! The band is happy to be back with their latest effort, a new self-titled/self-released full-length album and their first since 2010’s A Series of Screws. The disc finds the Portland, Oregon by way of Boise, Idaho quartet continuing to take their spacey and melodic math rock sound and imbuing it with an indie rock pace. Commenting on how the band has changed over time, principle songwriter RFK Heise said: “When I started the band I was heavily influenced by the Kansas City post-rock bands like Shiner and Molly McGuire. However after moving geographically and developing over releases, we now write like a rock band that incorporate other elements. Basically we like songs with energy, so whatever gives us that feeling is good for the song regardless of influence.”

To help truly get at that perfect sound for the new record, System and Station entrusted production duties once again to Larry Crane from Jackpot! Studios who has produced albums for artists like Pavement, Sleater-Kinney, Elliott Smith and The Decemberists. The album can be described as succinct and trim as it moves through a variety of moods built on a foundation of strong hooks and dynamic instruments. System and Station have now been together for over fifteen years and performed over a thousand shows. The new self-titled effort marks their seventh full-length and tenth recording.