This self-titled disc is the third release from the California-based modern metal band, Better Left Unsaid. From the very beginning it is apparent that this is going to be a good listen; it just has that certain something that immediately perked my ears up and peaked my curiosity. What I found was in fact a solid, down-tuned metal disc full of heavy riffage and brutal vocals accentuated by tons of melody.

Top to bottom Better Left Unsaid is a good release and I truly enjoyed listening to it. The only issue I have is that modern metal is more than flooded with similar-sounding bands and I’m not sure that this is all to different from the crowd. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely like this disc just think the genre is too saturated.

With all of that being said, I’m totally cranking this disc as I finish this review because, at the end of the day, I remain a fan of both modern metal and Better Left Unsaid.

Track Listing:

01. Mr. Dark
02. My Wounds
03. Exile The Righteous
04. She Needs Violence
05. Liberator
06. Snake Oil
07. The Butcher
08. Deaths Reflection
09. Threat Of Truth
10. For You (Ashlyn)

Run Time: 46:43
Release Date: June 18, 2013

Check out the song “She Needs Violence”