The Beginnings EP is the latest release from the UK and Latvia-based progressive metal band, The Mascaron. Simply put, I found this disc to be an interesting and ambitious undertaking. I say that because The Mascaron combine seriously down-tuned metal complete with growling vocals with elements of ambient and electronica.

The above-mentioned contrast takes a minute to get used to, but it seems to work a good portion of the time. For example, all the stars seem to align on “Inside The Sun”, as not only is it the heaviest track on the disc, but it also has some seriously good riffage running through it. At the end of the day I applaud the band’s creativity and believe this is a disc worth taking the time to hear.

Track Listing:

01. Out Of Time
02. Inside The Sun
03. Serpents
04. The Night Before
05. A Future Era

Run Time: 20:44
Release Date: May 2, 2013

Check out the album ‘Beginnings’