Download Now

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania’s progressive metal group Surgeon is back with their latest song “Waves,” available here for free download. Surgeon is currently one of the biggest buzz bands around, with their just-released ten track sophomore effort Chemical Reign racking up rave reviews. The group consists of Sean Bolton (vocals, bass), Lydia Giordano (guitars), and drummer Ruston Grosse who also doubles as the touring drummer for seminal death metal act Master. Chemical Reign was produced by the band itself along with the help of Kevin Antreassian (Dillinger Escape Plan, Mike Portnoy, Russell Allen of Symphony X) at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey.

Chemical Reign finds Surgeon pushing the sonic envelope by mixing hooks with intricate melodies and crafting each song as an individual piece, but still creating a cohesive and ambitious collection of songs. By combining their influences, ranging from progressive rock to metal, Surgeon creates a sound that is familiar enough to listeners, but not derivative in any way. The group got its start with 2008’s Angry Guest which helped the band start to gather a following. Now five years later, the band is even more of a tight and cohesive unit, ready to promote their new album with shows in their area of Philadelphia and beyond.