The Skinny: Swedish blackened metal outfit PEST premiered the first song off their forthcoming album The Crowning Horror. The release will hit the shops on June 18th in Europe and July 9th in North America via Agonia Records, and the debut track – a song (“Volcanic Eyes”) straight out off the cult old-school metal niches, that may appeal to both heavy and extreme metal public – can be streamed below!

Thrilled to return after a five-year break, PEST is once again back on its own turns, exposing a characteristic brand of old-school black metal to passion and mixing melodic yet haunted guitar licks with speed, rawness, and chaos. The Crowning Horror was mixed by Fred Estby (Dismember, Carnage, Necronaut) at Gutterview Recorders and mastered by Andy Jackson (Pink Floyd’s engineer, Grammy nominee) at Tube Mastering, UK.

The Crowning Horror Track Listing:

01. The Funeral Hours
02. A Face Obscured By Death
03. Volcanic Eyes * streaming on-line now!
04. Devil’s Mark
05. Holocaust
06. The Abomination of the God
07. Thirteen Chimes
08. Demon
09. The Crowning Horror
10. Eternal Curse


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.