The Skinny: Unsung New Jersey melodic blackened doom ensemble Forlorn Path recently unveiled their debut full-length, Man’s Last Portrait. A majestic work of morose wisdom, sonic sanctity and deviant beauty, the self-released Man’s Last Portrait was recorded by guitarist/sound engineer Ivan Chernikov mixed by Rob Torres and Frightbox Studios, and mastered by Jens Bogren and Fascination Street Studios.

“A simply fascinating blackened doom metal band who fuse black metal riffs with doom metals crushing forward motion,” notes French web portal, TwoGuysMetalReviews, in an early review of the offering, adding that, “The destructive might of this band as well as their mystical sound come together to form something that is both memorable and strangely beautiful. The melancholy magic of songs like ‘Empire of Decadence’ is hard to match. Meanwhile, the lyrics are also profound and beautiful.”

Man’s Last Portrait Track Listing:

01. The Coming of Winter
02. Empire of Decadence
03. Words Only Wind Can Speak
04. Masquerade
05. A Moment of Silence
06. As Hope Fades
07. Ghosts
08. Man’s Last Portrait
09. What Lies Beyond
10. Relics


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.