I find it almost unbelievable that Hope In Hell is Anvil’s 15th release to date. This is a band that achieved a small amount of success and despite all obstacles, has continually trucked onward. Most bands would have throw in the towel and moved onto other things ages ago, but not the mighty Anvil!

Okay, so I know you are waiting with baited breath to know if this is worth picking up. If I am being honest though, I think that is a tough question. On the one hand I so want this to be the album that finally garners these Canadians the acclaim I think they sorely deserve, but on the other, while this is typical Anvil, it is just that. There’s nothing really different from any of their previous releases at all. Boasting some solid tunes (see “Call Of Duty” and “The Fight Is Never Won”) and some really bad ones too (See “Shut The Fuck Up” and “Eat Your Words”), as far as I am concerned this disc is a mixed bag.

In all honesty I was hoping to rage on and on about how great this record is because I really wanted it to be! Realistically though, while still a solid and worthy affair, the best thing I can say about Hope In Hell is that it’s a typical Anvil record; nothing more, nothing less.

Track Listing:

01. Hope In Hell
02. Eat Your Words
03. Through With You
04. The Fight Is Never Won
05. Pay The Toll
06. Flying
07. Call Of Duty
08. Badass Rock N Roll
09. Time Shows No Mercy
10. Mankind Machine
11. Shut The Fuck Up
12. Hard Wired
13. Fire At Will

Run Time: 53:30
Release Date: May 28, 2013

Check out the song “Hope In Hell”