GRMLN is back with another new track from his upcoming debut LP. Album standout “Hand Pistol” is a catchy mix of polished-up Superchunk and poppier Jimmy Eat World. Stream/download the song now just below. Empire is GRMLN’s album for the cruis’n world: Upbeat rock ‘n’ roll with the feel of ’90s pop-punk. The new tracks are much more rock-driven than Explore’s gentle, dreamy tunes.

Wanting to capture the sound of a live band, Yoodoo Park recorded the album with his brother Tae San Park on bass and friend Keith Frerichs on drums. The nine songs (all but two are under three minutes) were recorded and mixed in a span of five days at Different Fur Studios in San Francisco with Patrick Brown and Sean Paulson (Toro Y Moi’s Anything In Return). The Japanese reppin’, California chillin’ artist will release Empire on Carpark Records on June 4.

Empire Track Listing:

01. Teenage Rhythm
02. Blue Lagoon
03. Hand Pistol
04. Coastal Love
05. Do You Know How It Feels?
06. Summer Days
07. 1993
08. Cheer Up
09. Dear Fear


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.