Pinback’s Information Retrieved is at once familiar and comforting for those who have had an introduction to the band’s previous work. The crux of the record, however, ultimately allows for an underlying sense of spontaneity. The Crow/Smith writing formula is very much present in this fifth release by the San Diegans, who first started the Pinback brand back in 1998, but surprises aren’t far from the ear of the observant listener.

As with basically all of the previous Pinback releases to date, Information Retrieved boils over with catchy, dreamy “girlfriend-rock” happiness. But there is a definite somber quality found in tracks like “Diminished” and “Sediment” and extended instrumentation throughout in the form of strings, piano and random samples… used to great effect and in keeping with the tradition of the band’s previous work.

On Information Retrieved, Crow and Smith continue their legacy of crafting clear and concise indie-pop gems and the fantastic recording and stellar production quality make this release shine bright, especially when digested in vinyl format.

Track Listing:

01. Proceed To Memory
02. Glide
03. Drawstring
04. Sherman
05. His Phase
06. Diminished
07. True North
08. A Request
09. Denslow, You Idiot!
10. Sediment

Run Time: 38:00
Release Date: October 16, 2012

Check out the song “Proceed To Memory”