Diablo Swing Orchestra came across my radar a few years ago and I have been intrigued with the band ever since. Their unique blending of so many different musical styles (swing, metal, jazz and Latin) defies categorization, but is incredibly entertaining. You may not think that all those genres can be combined to form anything even remotely listenable, but you would be dead wrong; their music is crazy entertaining.

On Pandora’s Piñata, their third disc, the craziness continues; strings, horns and Latin backbeats combined with prog rock and metal keep the listener guessing what is next. The thing I like most about these guys is their ability to continually write such out of the box, entertaining music. If you have not heard Diablo Swing Orchestra yet you owe it to yourself to check them out; it’s going to be unlike anything you have ever heard. If like me you’re already onboard the DSO train, then you will absolutely dig what they have done here on Pandora’s Piñata.

Track Listing:

01. Voodoo Mon Amour
02. Guerilla Laments
03. Kevlar Sweethearts
04. How To Organize A Lynch Mob
05. Black Boss Messiah
06. Exit Strategy Of A Wrecking Ball
07. Aurora
08. Mass Rapture
09. Honey Trap Aftermath
10. Of Kali Ma Calibre
11. Justice For Saint Mary

Run Time: 51:07
Release Date: May 14, 2012

Check out the song: “Black Boss Messiah”