Octocrura is the latest offering from the Italian industrial metal band D8 Dimension. Typically industrial is hit or miss for me (admittedly I’m not the biggest fan of the genre), but if it’s done right I can hang with it. With all that being said, I think Octocrura, for the most part, is done right.

“Vrock” kicks things off in very White Zombie-esque style and gets you moving and grooving in no time at all; tracks “Gunmouth” and “S.O.M.E” have the same affect. Had all the tunes here followed along the same lines as these three then this would have been a killer disc. Alas the title track is a slow, almost boring, instrumental, and “Poisoned Hamster” is just a bit too chaotic for me.

Overall I feel the record is a decent outing and I have added the previously mentioned songs to my player. As a whole though, Octocrura is a mixed bag for me.

Track Listing:

01. Vrock
02. Inferno
03. Industrial
04. Octocrura
05. Poisoned Hamster
06. Gunmouth
07. S.O.M.E

Run Time: 31:18
Release Date: February 15, 2013

Check out the album ‘Octocrura’