Formed in the year 2000 in Charleston, WV, Byzantine saw three albums released via Prosthetic Records before calling it a day in 2008. The since reformed quartet continue their power-prog meets groove metal onslaught with latest thrashsterpiece, the self-titled Byzantine.

It is immediately evident that the time away has not dampened their ability to create stunningly well-crafted songs. The nine tunes on the album cover all the bases you would expect from these guys – shred-heavy riffage, lush and melodic interludes, an interesting variety of time signatures and a wide range of vocal approaches. The musicianship is phenomenal, as with all of their previous work, and a crisp and lively production makes this record stand out. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:

01. Which Light Shall Never Penetrate
02. Soul Eraser
03. Efficacy
04. Forged In The Heart Of A Dying Star
05. Caldera
06. Signal Path
07. Everything I Touch Bursts Into Flames
08. Posthumous
09. Pathogen

Run Time: 45:00
Release Date: February 26, 2013

Check out the song “Soul Eraser”