This self-titled release from Toy Called God is a super groovy metal album that will have you banging your head and moving around in no time. Album opener, “Self-Destructive,” kicks things off with a killer, catchy riff and a terrific hook; thankfully in good fashion, the rest of the disc follows suit.

The record has a nice distorted, unpolished, rough around the edges feel to it that I think really works well. The guitar work is great and I especially liked the tasteful shredding during the solo breaks. These guys are relatively new to the metal scene, but I don’t think it will be too long before they gain broader attention from metal heads all over. If good old groove metal is your thing, then you owe it to yourself to check this one out.

Track Listing:

01. Self Destructive
02. As I Walk This Road
03. Only One Menace
04. Bulldozer
05. Soiled Dream
06. Addiction
07. The Voodoo
08. Wild Child
09. Whatever You Say
10. Martyr Dumb
11. When I’m Dead

Run Time: 26:02
Release Date: August 5, 2012

Check out the song “Only One Menace”