As France is not exactly known as a hotbed of doom metal, I have to admit I wasn’t expecting much from Surtr’s Pulvis Et Umbra. I don’t know why, but for some reason I just never thought that a French band could pull off doom successfully.

Obviously I was wrong as the release, while not perfect, is definitely solid. The songs move along at a slow, heavy pace and musically (in my mind) the best comparison would be to Candlemass; the songs are very similar in style to that band.

Vocally, singer Jeff Maurer has a creepy style that may alienate some people. Admittedly, upon first listen I too didn’t care for his vocal stylings. After a while however, I really felt that his voice did suit the music. Overall, the album was solid and I look forward to hearing more from the band in the future.

Track Listing:

01. Rise Again
02. Three Winters of War
03. Sonic Doom
04. The Call
05. Rebellion
06. I Am The Cross
07. Fred Karno’s Army

Run Time: 41:49
Release Date: March 13, 2013

Check out the band recording the new album