I am sure hoping that Secrets of the Sky do not stay a secret for too long! Their new album, To Sail Black Waters, is a fantastic blackened, prog/doom release that has surprises lurking around every corner.

Forget any preconceived notions you might have about the aforementioned genres because this music is raw, heavy and rough around the edges. Sure, you might expect from a black metal/doom outfit, but the prog influences really change things up affording the songs an interesting twist. Moreover, the addition of clean vocal lines throughout truly heightens the overall listening experience.

I think the beauty of To Sail Black Waters is that it is as unpredictable as it is heavy and brutal. I highly recommend checking this disc out!

Track Listing:

01. Winter
02. Decline
03. Sunrise
04. Black Waters

Run Time: 40:56
Release Date: February 26, 2013

Check out the song “Decline” here.