Isoteos, the new release from Greek black metal band Kawir, is a gem of an album that hardly got any press from any of the bigger publications last year. The disc, which was released in October of 2012, is a fine example of the right way to do black metal and deserves more coverage!

Unlike most black metal, Isoteos doesn’t seem to rely on building up a dark atmosphere, opting instead for music that is simultaneously harsh and tuneful. While the dark atmosphere is certainly present, the band makes it not with harshness, but instead with the actual melodies of the music itself.

The songs are both majestic and powerful at the same time, and while most are quite lengthy, they don’t seem to drag on for long at all. In fact, most seem to lull you in with the time going by in the blink of an eye. This is some powerful stuff and highly recommended.

Track Listing:

01. Daemon
02. Hymn to Winds
03. To Demeter
04. Hymn to Apollo
05. Hail Bacchus
06. Hades
07. Isotheos
08. Panspermia

Run Time: 55:09
Release Date: October 11, 2012

Check out the song “Hymn to Winds”