Hatebreed may have a new home for The Divinity Of Purpose, but as the opening seconds of “Put It To The Torch” smash you in the face it’s crystal clear that little has or will be changing in Camp Hatebreed. Yes, the Connecticut metal heavyweights are back and are bringing with them another slab of brawling “toughcore” metal.

“Fists up! Head High! We own the fucking world tonight!” bellows frontman Jamey Jasta in almost militaristic fashion on “Own The World”, a track that alone backs up the band’s claims that The Divinity Of Purpose is an album that sees them playing to their strengths. Now, metal fans, unless living under a rock for the last twenty years, will know that those strengths are massive sing-a-long lyrics wrapped around snarling riffs, all packaged together in a product that has incited teeth breaking circle-pits from London to Los Angeles and beyond.

Of course Jasta admits that the band have not reinvented the wheel on The Divinity Of Purpose but, really, most metal fans don’t expect them to and certainly won’t care as they’re losing their shit to “The Language”, a song which epitomizes everything that has kept Hatebreed at the top of the metalcore pack for so long. In fact, one listen to the crunching “Nothing Scars Me” shows that, while two decades have passed, along with a lot of blood, sweat and tears, the metal titans are still drilling their positive message home with consummate ease.

Now, with financial restraints and the ease in which new music can be heard these days, what reason is there for anyone other than hardcore Hatebreed devotees to pick up The Divinity Of Purpose? Well, there probably isn’t to be honest because, if you’ve heard anything Hatebreed have put out over the last few albums then tracks like the Slayer tinged “Dead Man Breathing” won’t add anything new to your collection. The thing that does make The Divinity Of Purpose worth the money is that, when it comes down to big riffs, huge swathes of wall-flattening metal, and lyrics you can scream along to until your throat starts bleeding, nobody does it better than Hatebreed!

Track Listing:

01. Put It To The Torch
02. Honor Never Dies
03. Own Your World
04. The Language
05. Before The Fight Ends You
06. Indivisible
07. Dead Man Breathing
08. The Divinity Of Purpose
09. Nothing Scars Me
10. Bitter Truth
11. Boundless (Time To Murder It)
12. Idolized And Vilified (Bonus Track)

Run Time: 34:45
Release Date: January 28, 2013

Check out the song: “Put It To The Torch”


I have an unhealthy obsession with bad horror movies, the song Wanted Dead Or Alive and crap British game shows. I do this not because of the sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll lifestyle it affords me but more because it gives me an excuse to listen to bands that sound like hippos mating.