On December 4th, 2012 Alexisonfire released their newest EP, Death Letter, in Canada. Considering the band is currently wrapping up their farewell tour, it’s very exciting to hear some new music from them; especially music that is a bit of a contrast from their previous work. On Death Letter each track is bursting with passionate and mellow melodies. The songs flow together beautifully which makes this EP perfect for an extremely good chill out.

This same flow also makes it easy for one to sit back and truly enjoy the artists’ voices which, along with the melodies, is in stark contrast to older Alexisonfire music. The vocals on Death Letter are the most obvious difference from those on previous albums. Because this EP was so soothing and lacked screaming, I had to double check to ensure this was really Alexisonfire. I kept asking myself, “Am I listening to what I think I’m listening to?” I was! In summary, these different vocals aren’t a bad thing. Change can be very good and with this EP, the music is fresh and a wonderful sendoff.

Death Letter Track Listing:

01. Born and Raised
02. Midnight Regulations
03. You Burn First
04. Accept Crime
05. Burial
06. Happiness By The Kilowatt

Run Time: 26:01
Release Date: December 4, 2012

Check out the song “Midnight Regulations”