Aficionado: a person who likes, knows about, and appreciates a usually fervently pursued interest or activity. Based on the definition, I am sure the band Aficionado know many people who are exactly like this towards their music… the same music that can be found on their self-titled effort, released in 2011 via No Sleep Records.

Like many indie rock records, Aficionado has a wide variety of fun/catchy tunes, (check out “Grandfather” and “Confidence Is Intimidating”) plastered all over the album. The instrumentals therein are simple, but catchy with some nice flutes and horns thrown in for good measure. Instruments aside, the tracks’ main hook are Nick Warchol and Laura Carrozza’s dueling male/female vocals.

While not everyone’s cup of tea, Aficionado is a decent record for playing through, or even having on as fun background music. With 7 members in the group I am equally sure they are a blast to watch live. The Slipknot of indie rock! Ha!

Track Listing:

01. The Things You Like
02. Stir Like Hell
03. Everything Was Right
04. Grandfather
05. Confidence Is Intimidating
06. Honesty
07. Falsified Inspiration
08. Permanent
09. Characters
10. Open Doors

Run Time: 37:26
Release Date: July 26, 2011

Check out the song: “Stir Like Hell”