I’m not the biggest fan of deathcore as, more often than not, I feel it all sounds the same and is just too much to handle. The exception to that rule; however, has always been The Acacia Strain! For whatever reason I’ve long-since been a fan, with their music always making its way into my regular rotation. Their newest release, Death Is The Only Mortal, being no exception!

From the very first note of the opening track, “Doomblade,” I was sold once again. The seriously down-tuned riffing wall of guitars bashed me in the face forcing me to take notice; I complied for remainder of the disc. Vincent Bennett’s vocals are heavy and raspy, but unlike a lot of his vocal contemporaries, I am actually able understand a majority of what he says (which is a plus in my book).

Lastly, just when I thought it was all going to be battering, heavy, chugging rhythms, a song like “Brain Death” comes along with a fair amount of melodic guitar. It offered a brief respite from the auditory slaying and was quite nice. At the end of the day Death Is The Only Mortal is a solid disc from a band that consistently ups the bar.

Track Listing:

01. Doomblade
02. Our Lady Of Perpetual
03. Go To Sleep
04. Brain Death
05. The Mouth Of The River
06. Dust And The Helix
07. Victims Of The Cave
08. Time And Death And God
09. The Chambers Nautilis
10. House Of Abandon

Run Time: 45:14
Release Date: October 9, 2012

Check out the song: “Victims Of The Cave”