KISS’ Monster is the second release by the current lineup featuring Tommy Thayer (guitar) and Eric Singer (drums). Advancing on the musical path that 2009’s Sonic Boom took, Monster is an album to be judged by 2012 standards and as such is a great rock record! Whether songs like the debut single “Hell Or Hallelujah” finds its place in the heart and minds of longtime KISS fans is anyone’s guess. Are the songs on the same level as 1970’s KISS? Probably not, but it shouldn’t matter!

Much like the band itself, Monster is a guilty pleasure of tried and true lyrical themes, over-the-top guitar solos, tasteful drumming and Paul Stanley’s macho man vocals. Sure the song “Show Mercy” shares a choral pattern with Alice Cooper’s “What Baby Wants” and the album could benefit from the ears of an outside producer (Andy Sneap, for example), but none of this should distract from the fun that Monster is. So please, buy the album, enjoy the record and for 47 minutes, forget about “Rock N’ Roll All Nite” and let 2012 KISS take you “Outta This World”.

Track Listing:

01. Hell or Hallelujah
02. Wall of Sound
03. Freak
04. Back to the Stone Age
05. Shout Mercy
06. Long Way Down
07. Eat Your Heart Out
08. The Devil Is Me
09. Outta This World
10. All for the Love of Rock & Roll
11. Take Me Down Below
12. Last Chance
13. Right Here Right Now

Run Time: 47:36
Release Date: October 9, 2012

Check out the song: “Hell or Hallelujah”