Edge Of Haze is a band that I was lucky to stumble across as they’re probably going to be huge someday. Yes, I know, that’s a bit of a strong statement, but after listening to the band’s debut album, Mirage, I am utterly convinced that they will become superstars.

The band, who hails from Espoo, Finland, describe themselves as alternative metal. While I feel this tag is somewhat correct, I also believe it to be kind of misleading. You see, when I hear the term “alternative metal” I always automatically (rightly or wrongly) think of bands like Alice In Chains, Soundgarden, and so forth. Edge Of Haze; however, play a mix of styles that sounds like a cross between Katatonia, Opeth and latter day In Flames. Katatonia and In Flames particularly in the musical department, while Opeth more vocally (especially as lead singer Marcus Hentunen trades off clean vocals with bassist Eero Maijala). This back and forth does work, but the band will probably go furthest if they continue to primarily use Hentunen’s clean vocals.

Definitely check this band out! I also highly suggest buying one of their albums now as they are only in a limited edition print of 200, and like I said, they are most likely going to be huge! Top songs include “Certainty” and “Black Lakes”.

Track Listing:

01. Mirage
02. Certainty
03. Attitude
04. Inside
05. In the Place Where I Belong
06. Auguries
07. Black Lakes

Run Time: 36:57
Release Date: June 25, 2012

Check out the song: “Black Lakes”