Nine studio albums in and Green Day continues to improve with each release. ¡Uno! is the first album in this trilogy, with ¡Dos! arriving later this year and ¡Tré! in early 2013. Having recorded 38 songs, the band initially were set to release a double album. But what fun would that be, and why stop at 2? As such, they decided they’d pull a Van Halen and offer a trilogy. The fan in mean loves the fact that each band member gets their own face on a release; how fitting is it that Tre Cool is ¡Tré! awesome!?

Front man Billie Joe Armstrong probably put it best when he went on record stating: “We are at the most prolific and creative time in our lives… This is the best music we’ve ever written, and the songs just keep coming. Instead of making one album, we are making a three-album trilogy. Every song has the power and energy that represents Green Day on all emotional levels. We just can’t help ourselves… We are going epic as fuck!”

And epic it is! This first album is vibrant, youthful, an easy listen and oh so much fun! It’s effortless and not in a bad way; it’s not overly-produced and remains really rich-sounding. Again, the band chose Rob Cavallo for production and that might be one of the reasons why ¡Uno! is a “true” Green Day album. If this first one is any indication, the next two will be equally impressive.

Track Listing:

01. Nuclear Family

02. Stay The Night
03. Carpe Diem

04. Let Yourself Go

05. Kill The DJ

06. Fell For You

07. Loss Of Control

08. Troublemaker

09. Angel Blue

10. Sweet 16

11. Rusty James

12. Oh Love

Run Time: 41:44
Release Date: September 25, 2012

Check out the song: “Kill The DJ”