The Skinny: US death metallers Abysme, featuring a former member of Funerus – Brad Heiple, will release the CD version of their first full-length album Strange Rites on September 24th via Hellthrasher Productions with vinyl treatment coming later this year on Blood Harvest Records. The opening track “Scribbled in Dust” is available for streaming – listen below!

According to a press release, the album will contain almost 35 minutes of old-school heavy death metal with varying tempos in the vein of such Swedish bands as Dismember and Entombed mixed with some U.S. death metal influences of Incantation and Immolation. Strange Rites features cover artwork by Putrid Matt.

Strange Rites Track Listing:

01. Scribbled In Dust
02. Beyond the Seventh Door
03. Formless
04. Annihilated Memory
05. Gift to the Gods
06. We Shall Sleep
07. Terminal Delirium
08. The Third Day
09. Fallen Colossus
10. Remarkable Conqueror


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.