The mighty masters of the folk metal genre have once again returned from the depths of the forests of Finland with a worthy follow-up to their previous disc, Ukon Wacka. Korpiklaani come out of the box with a bang, launching into one of the heavier, catchier tunes on the disc, “Kunnia”. Fans of the band will immediately recognize their trademark sound and will be singing along in no time at all; it takes residence between your ears and refuses to leave, I was singing and humming this song all day long.

The first half of the record is what we would expect from Korpiklaani; thrashy, riff-filled, accordion-laced, polka tunes guaranteed to get you on your feet alternating between a polka and a mosh. About halfway through the disc the dissonant, somber violin instrumental, “Husky Sledge”, changes the mood significantly and the songs that follow are a bit darker and gloomier than previous material from the band; they are still quite good, just different.

At the end of the day I think Manala is well worth checking out, it is a solid (and in my opinion, one of the best) release from one of innovators and true leaders of the folk metal genre.

Track Listing:

01. Kunnia
02. Tuonelan Tuvilla
03. Rauta
04. Ruumiinmultaa
05. Petoelaimen Kuola
06. Synkka
07. Ievan Polkka
08. Husky Sledge
09. Dolorous
10. Uni
11. Metsalle
12. Sumussa Hamaran Aamun
13. Soil Of The Corpse (bonus track)

Run Time: 49:25
Release Date:

Check out the song: “Kunnia” (Honor)