It appears that doom is making a resurgence, as every second album I review seems to be doom or doom influenced. This is fine though as the current crop of musicians (Demon Lung, Witch Mountain) are all excellent. The only major problem being that with such a huge pool of good doomsters, a few bands are going to get overlooked.

Enter the UK’s Witchsorrow with their second LP God Curse Us out now on Metal Blade/Rise Above Records. Musically the best comparison is to early Cathedral with slow, lurching riffs that sound like hymns to the devil himself. While not exactly original, this is a solid album with fairly longish songs averaging around the 8-10 minute mark. Don’t expect a re-invention of the doom wheel with this one; instead, if you expect a solid doom album with a few hooks thrown in here and there, you’ll have a good time.

Track Listing:

01. Aurora Atra
02. God Curse Us
03. Masters of Nothing
04. Ab Antiquo
05. Megiddo
06. Breaking the Lore
07. Den of Serpents

Run Time: 55:52
Release Date: July 3, 2012

Check out the song: “God Curse Us”