What do you get when you throw Cynic, Meshuggah, Porcupine Tree and Between The Buried And Me into the proverbial musical blender? Probably something that comes very close to what The Contortionist managed to achieve with Intrinsic, their latest album.

Intrinsic is a very advanced and balanced album. It combines the polyrythicmic attack of Meshuggah with the atmospheric moments of Cynic and Porcupine Tree and the musical prowess of Between The Buried And Me. Imagine this captured in some killer tracks, like “Holomovements”, “Feedback Loop” and “Geocentric Confustion”, and you’ll realise you just have been listening to arguably the finest modern prog/djent record of the year. Period.

Track Listing:

01. Holomovement
02. Feedback Loop
03. Causality
04. Sequential Vision
05. Geocentric Confusion
06. Dreaming Schematics
07. Anatomy Anomolies
08. Cortical
09. Solipsis
10. Parallel Trance

Run Time: 44: 47
Release Date: July 17, 2012

Check out the song: “Holomovement”