The Skinny: After an exciting year of virtually non-stop globetrotting, Vancouver’s Juno nominated art-pop quintet Mother Mother wasted no time getting back into recording mode. The result – the band’s fourth studio effort, The Sticks, due on September 18, 2012 on Last Gang Records. The first single “Let’s Fall In Love” hits radio today – have a listen below. Along with the new single, fans will be able to purchase the album’s title track from iTunes tomorrow, and pre-order the album with an exclusive b-side track titled “All Gone”.

Recorded during the winter of 2012 in Mother Mother’s hometown of Vancouver, and co-produced by the group’s own frontman and principle songwriter Ryan Guldemond and producer/engineer Ben Kaplan (Shakira, Mudvayne, Gallows), The Sticks upholds Mother Mother’s tradition of tri-harmony vocal arrangements and dynamic instrumentation, while making for the group’s most eclectic and rich album to date. The album’s lead off single “Let’s Fall In Love”, an ironic homage to tunesmith Cole Porter, is a moody yet epic song about the foolhardy games we play in the arena of romance: “Stupid does it, ugly do it… Let’s fall in love”.

The Sticks follows a whirlwind year of near constant touring in support of Mother Mother’s previous release, the critically acclaimed Eureka. The album produced three Top 20 alternative radio singles, including the infectious smash hit “The Stand” which peaked at #3 at Canadian alternative (#5 at modern rock), and yielded a Juno-nominated music video. Internationally, Mother Mother’s reception is already mirroring that of their homeland’s, indicative by the recognition they’ve garnered from institutions such as BBC Radio, MTV, and tastemaker publications Q, Spin and Paste among others.

The Sticks Track Listing:

01. Omen
02. The Sticks
03. Let’s Fall In Love
04. Businessman
05. Dread In My Heart
06. Infinitesimal
07. Happy
08. Bit By Bit
09. Latter Days
10. Little Pistol
11. Love It Dissipates
12. The Cry Forum
13. Waiting For The World To End
14. To The Wild


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.