Download Now

The Skinny: Chicago new-wave quartet California Wives has announced the release of its debut Art History LP, out on September 4th with Vagrant. The band worked with producer Claudius Mittendorfer (Interpol, Neon Indian, Wild Nothing) for the eleven tracks that present a cohesive gallery of modern-day pop portraits framed with a retro ’80s fit.

“I felt like I was asleep for years,” says California Wives’ lead vocalist and keyboardist Jayson Kramer of his decision in 2009 to leave behind a promising career in medicine for a professional go at music. “I was completely honest with myself for the first time in my life and recognized that I had no desire to go on with medical school.” Around this time he moved back to his hometown of Chicago where he was introduced to drummer Joe O’Connor, and bassist Dan Zima. It was via their shared appreciation of music and compatible chemistry that California Wives was formed in 2009, with the current lineup being cemented in 2012 upon the new addition of lead guitarist Graham Masell.

Art History Track Listing:

01. Blood Red Youth
02. Tokyo
03. Marianne
04. The Fisher King
05. Los Angeles
06. Photolights
07. Purple
08. Better Home
09. Twenty Three
10. The New Process
11. Light Year


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.