Spineshank’s latest release, Anger Denial Acceptance, is a bit of departure from their earlier releases and the first thing I noticed was how raw and under produced the album is overall. It’s much different than The Height Of Callousness and Self-Destructive Pattern for example, but in my book this is not necessarily a bad thing; I feel that this kind of thrashy, aggressive metal really benefits from a certain amount of rawness and edginess. Songs like “Murder-Suicide” and “After The End” are the heaviest tracks on the disc and subsequently became my immediate favorites.

The album is not all balls out heavy though, “I Want You To Know” contains tons of melody and has more of an alternative feel to it while “Exit Wound” is a stripped down acoustic/piano type number. Soft moments aside, I feel that Spineshank are at their best on the harder edgier numbers, especially with the production being what it is. That being said, for me there aren’t enough of those types of songs on the disc and it sort of became a mixed bag. While there are definitely some tracks (like the two previously mentioned ones) that I will add to my regular rotation, I don’t really feel the others have enough to keep me coming back for more.

Track Listing:

01. After The End
02. Nothing Left For Me
03. Anger Acceptance Denial
04. I Want You To Know
05. Murder-Suicide
06. I Am Damage
07. The Endless Disconnect
08. Ploratio Morbus
09. Everything Everyone Everywhere Ends
10. The Reckoning
11. God Complex (Anger)
12. Motive Method Opportunity (Denial)
13. Exit Wound (Acceptance)

Run Time: 44:47
Release Date: June 19, 2012

Check out the song: “Nothing Left For Me”