Mortification has been held in high regard by fans of the extreme Christian metal world for years and they are considered by many to be one of the preeminent bands in the scene. They’ve been around since 1987 and definitely paved the way for many of the bands in the genre today. Their newest album, Scribe Of The Pentateuch, is their 15th studio release and includes six new tracks as well as four of their more popular tunes from the past decade or so.

The thing I like most about Mortification is their ability to combine so many different extreme metal genres into their own unique sound, and that is what they do on this disc. “Extradiefor” kicks things into high gear with an all-out death metal/grind assault that sets the pace for the rest of the record. The disc is not all death/grind and growling vocals though as there is a decent amount of thrashy, straight up metal going on in these songs, as well as some clean vocals in the title track as well as “In Garland Hall.”

I think fans of the band will eat these new songs up and those not familiar will benefit from the four previously-recorded Mortification gems.

Track Listing:

01. Extradiefor
02. Scribe Of The Pentateuch
03. The Jaws Of Life
04. In Garland Hall
05. Weapons Of Mass Salvation
06. The White Death
07. Priests Of The Underground
08. Too Much Pain
09. Erasing The Goblin
10. Elasticized Outrage

Run Time: 42:45
Release Date: June 29, 2012

Check out the song: “Scribe Of The Pentateuch”