The Skinny: Distinctive Chicago-based doom collective Earthen Grave recently release their electrifying self-titled debut album. Boasting a powerful, dynamic style of plodding doom metal surging with classic heavy metal vigor, the six members of the band coalesce their metal aptitude into one entity with Earthen Grave. Founded in 2008 by guitarist Jason Muxlow (The Living Fields, Wintering) and drummer Scott Davidson (ex-Stonehenge, owner of Rebel Radio), the duo recruited bassist Ron Holzner (formerly of Trouble, Debris Inc., Place of Skulls, etc.), vocalist Mark Weiner (Trifog), guitarist Tony Spillman (Spillage), and renowned classical violinist Rachel Barton Pine on extended range electric flying V violin.

In late April of this year, Earthen Grave entered the studio to create their mammoth first album, simply entitled Earthen Grave. Produced by Ron Holzner, and released on CD and via digital download via his own indie label Claude and Elmo Music, this layered opus showcases even more range and diversity to the band’s commanding material, clocking in with over an hour of epic music!

Earthen Grave Track Listing:

01. Earthen Grave
02. Life Carries On
03. Burning a Sinner
04. Blood Drunk
05. Dismal Times
06. Tilted World
07. Beneath a Shovel Load
08. Fall In
09. Relentless
10. Death on the High Seas


Born in 2003, V13 was a socio-political website that, in 2005, morphed into PureGrainAudio and spent 15 years developing into one of Canada's (and the world’s) leading music sites. On the eve of the site’s 15th anniversary, a full re-launch and rebrand takes us back to our roots and opens the door to a full suite of Music, Film, TV, and Cultural content.