Poland’s Amorphous are an interesting band. They are billed as death metal yet sound like a cross between death, thrash and traditional metal. According to the band’s bio they’ve been kicking around the underground scene since back in 1991. Enter 2012 and their new album, A Perfect Evil, may be the release that actually breaks the band to the metal masses.

A Perfect Evil is quite accessible – thick, crunchy and juicy riffs permeate the album. Amorphous also like to keep things to a midpaced groove for much of the record with the song “Escape” being a perfect example of the band at their best: 90% of the song is slow and chugging, but then suddenly it speeds up to a frantic pace, then back to slow and chugging. While A Perfect Evil may not be a perfect album, it’s pretty damn good all the same. All the death metal fans out there should hurry up and take a listen.

Track Listing:

01. Psychosis
02. Deception…Lie…Forgiveness
03. Shred
04. My Revenge
05. Lonely Reality
06. Escape
07. The Abyss of Nothingness
08. Discouraged
09. Let’s Paint the Death
10. Agony Part II

Run Time: 37:44
Release Date: March 1, 2012

Check out the album preview for: ‘A Perfect Evil’