Otherwise is a group who’s probably going to end up being huge. According to their Facebook page, they sold 10,000 copies of the song “Soldiers” prior to even being signed to a proper record contract. I’m betting that Century Media is seeing dollar signs flashing before their eyes as Otherwise plays the type of hooky, radio friendly hard rock that the masses buy in droves. If you think of bands like Nickelback, Theory of a Deadman and especially Three Days Grace you will know what Otherwise sounds like.

So, if I think the band is going to be huge why the hell am I only giving it a 6.0? For one reason only: I really can’t stand this style of music, although I admit it can be a guilty pleasure once in a while. Otherwise are perfect for a massive audience: pristine production, big anthemic courses with crunchy hard rock songs that aren’t so heavy that non hard rock fans will be turned off. In short they’ve got all the ingredients for success. The only thing is, it’s just not my thing.

For what it’s worth, the band do have a number of songs that could be smash singles like the aforementioned “Soldiers”, “Vegas Girl” and the obligatory balads “I Don’t Apologize (1000 Pictures) and “Heaven”. If you’re into the whole “post-grunge” thing pick this up and I’m sure you will find this much better than I did.

Track Listing:

01. I
02. Die For You
03. Lighthouse
04. Scream Now
05. Don’t Be Afraid
06. Vegas Girl
07. II
08. Silence Reigns
09. I Don’t Apologize (1000) Pictures
10. Crimson
11. Full Circle
12. Soldiers
13. III
14. Heaven

Run Time: 44:23
Release Date: May 8, 2012

Check out the song: “Soldiers”