Wow! The self-titled debut from Dead Sara is an unbelievably unique melding of hardcore punk, rock & roll and blues. The first few notes immediately sucked me in with their raw, gritty and over-driven qualities and my attention stayed for the remaining 44 minutes. Seriously, this is one hell of a disc! Vocalist Emily Armstrong is nothing short of amazing. She has a power and range that is just freakin’ off the chain; at times it feels like she’s channeling the late great Janis Joplin while at others she has a trill in her voice that is as unique as it is odd.

Armstrong’s voice may be dope, but the riff-driven rhythm section behind her is definitely not pulling second fiddle by any means. What they lack in technicality they make up for in their super-charged, soulful, extremely raw sound. The combination of the two is just fantastic and makes for an album that is sure to create some noise in the music scene.

I honestly can’t say much more about this record except that you really need to listen to this one for yourself. Once you’ve gotten a taste I dare you to put it down; there’s a good chance you won’t be able to.

Track Listing:

01. Whispers & Ashes
02. We Are What You Say
03. Weatherman
04. Dear Love
05. Monumental Holiday
06. I said You Were Lucky
07. Face To Face
08. Test On My Patience
09. Timed Blues
10. Lemon Scent
11. Sorry For It All

Run Time: 42:44
Release Date: April 10, 2012

Check out the song “Weatherman”