Released on January 17, 2012 via Velocity/Rise Records, The Ascent is the debut full-length by San Diego, CA based band Secrets. I will admit that I hadn’t heard anything about these guys prior to listening to this album. That said, I am quite impressed! Every song is solid, catchy and heavy. You can’t help but want to sing-along, bob your head, and punch someone in the face all at the same time!

While I would have liked a little more variation form song-to-song, overall the album is still really good – a highly successful collection of tracks. To support The Ascent, Secrets already have a ton of touring scheduled for this year and will be hitting the road with Sleeping with Sirens, Abandon All Ships, Conditions, Escape The Fate, Attack Attack!, The World Alive and Mest (talk about busy!).

If they don’t already, the guys better start wearing sunglasses because their future looks extremely bright. Be sure to check out Secrets and pick up this album as it’s one of the essential releases of 2012.

Track Listing:

01. Genesis
02. The Oath
03. Somewhere in Hiding
04. The Heartless Part
05. 40 Below
06. Melodies
07. The Best You Can’t Be
08. Blindside
09. The Hardest Part
10. You Look Good In Plastic
11. The Ascent

Run Time: 36:45
Release Date: January 17, 2012

Check out the song: “The Oath”