Florida’s most beloved Metal sons are back with a commanding new album that surely will help this quintet to retain the title of undisputed Kings of American Death Metal. Aptly titled Torture, Cannibal Corpse’s new recording comprises all the classic elements of the band’s musical formula, elevating them to new levels of complexity. Once again produced by the talented Erik Rutan (of the Hate Eternal fame), Torture showcases a very organic and crystal-clear sound that intensifies the band’s natural sonic viciousness.

One of the most remarkable attributes of the album is a renewed maturity in the songwriting. The lyrics are still centered on gore and horror stories and there are plenty fast and frenzy moments like the album opener “Demented Aggression” and the track “Torn through”; however, on songs like “Scourge of Iron”, “Followed Home Then Killed” and the catchy “Crucifier Avenged”, the band reveals a more sophisticated almost-Doomy Thrash approach, trading speed for heaviness and intricate rhythmic sessions that bring more density and anguish to their sound.

Musicianship has also improved, more evidently on the short but melodic-oriented guitar solos of Pat O’Brien, the impressive bass lines of Alex Webster (especially on “The Strangulation Chair” and “Caged…Contorted”) and the combination of speed and groove on Paul Mazurkiewics’ drumming. Only George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher’s potent growling hasn’t progressed enough. Adding more creativity to his vocal approach would have been a welcome addition.

It’s mind-blowing how these guys, already in their forties, maintain a natural state of relentlessness than most of their peers with half their age cannot even get close to. Torture is a straight-to-the-point Death Metal fest that proves that the 24 year-old Cannibal Corpse still has a lot in store and an exciting future ahead of them. Let the musical evisceration happily continue…

Track Listing:

01. Demented Aggression
02. Sarcophagic Frenzy
03. Scourge of Iron
04. Encased in Concrete
05. As Deep As the Knife Will Go
06. Intestinal Crank
07. Followed Home Then Killed
08. The Strangulation Chair
09. Caged…Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through

Run Time: 42:05
Release Date: March 13, 2012

Check out the song “Demented Aggression” here.