Gustavo De Beauville and Steve Moore met in the fall of 2008, forming a musical relationship they dubbed The Unravelling. Two years later the duo independently released their debut album, 13 Arcane Hymns. They split the work (Gustavo controlled the instrumentals while Steve took the reins on vocals) and ended up with a fantastic mix of alternative and nu metal.

Gustavo De Beauville: As previously mentioned, this album has both nu metal and alternative influences. This is especially evident in the instrumentals as the duo transitions from a clean, spiritual rock sound to heavy 4-chord progressions. Instrumentally Gustavo has mainly focus on the guitars while having the other instruments play a supporting roll.

Steve Moore: Vocally Moore has written some of his best lines to dates, beating out his work with Inner Surge and Post Death Soundtrack. His lines flow easily and march nicely with the music while his voice is much like that of Maynard James Keenan (Tool, A Perfect Circle); they’re mellow but when he shouts, he really belts out what he wants to say.

As a fan of Steve Moore’s previous work I found 13 Arcane Hymns to be the most structured music he’s ever done – I guess Gustavo De Beauville has a way of keeping his partner in line. I would like to congratulate The Unravelling for their efforts in bringing back the lost sounds of alternative/nu metal.

Track Listing:

01. Move Forward Until You Are Dead
02. Becoming Chaos
03. Fire Breather
04. Open Skull
05. Last Rights Protest
06. Revived
07. Unscripted Disclosure
08. In The Safe House
09. Where Will It End?
10. Disconnect – Connect
11. My Resignation
12. Arjuna
13. Victory Song

Run Time: 53:38
Release Date: May 13, 2010

Check out the song: “Move Forward Until You Are Dead”