Let the neck-snapping and headbanging begin! The Chicago based band Testimony has done an incredible job channeling thrash metal from days gone by; their newest EP, Transcending Reality, sounds as if it were ripped directly from the 80’s thrash scene. The galloping rhythms, turn on a dime tempo changes and intricate shredding make this and incredibly enjoyable listen.

These guys are not yet signed which may explain why the EP’s production quality is a bit on the minimalist side, but this is not necessarily a bad thing. In a way I think it might add a bit more authenticity to the overall project, making it sound rawer and more like a record from the thrash heyday, rather than the over-polished stuff we’ve become accustomed to nowadays.

Bottom line, as an old school thrash fan myself, I really dig what Testimony has done on Transcending Reality. I would imagine that it won’t be long until the labels come knocking on their door and waiving contracts.

Track Listing:

01. Exordium
02. Release From Life
03. State Of Delusion
04. Test Of Sanity
05. Society’s End
06. Transcending Reality

Run Time: 35:59
Release Date: January 24, 2012

Check out the album: “Transcending Reality”