I had never heard anything from Hungarian metallers Subscribe before, so I didn’t know what to expect when I sat down to listen to their newest release, Bookmarks. I was completely unprepared for what I found. Once the album started I was sucked in hook, line and sinker; I became a fan during the first tune, “Griping Portentous”.

At its foundation, this is a metal album (a strong one at that), but dig a bit deeper and you’ll find many musical layers at work that make this CD multidimensional and so much more. Sure, there are some really heavy, balls-out metal tunes, but there are also many melodic, riff-driven, groove-infused tunes as well.

Honestly, I receive tons of discs on a weekly basis and the majority of them are relegated to the “perhaps I will listen to them again someday pile.” Bookmarks is different story though; I am sold on these guys. I highly suggest checking them out, they are that good.

Track Listing:

01. Griping Portentous
02. Anxiety Found Shape In Contradictions – Act II. Delusion
03. Anxiety Found Shape In Contradictions – Act III. The Final Relief
04. Bitter Boundary
05. Books For The Dyslexic
06. Orchitis
07. Ringside Seat
08. Álomtégla
09. Miles Away
10. Between Heaven And Her
11. Gay Rodeo

Run Time: March 20, 2011
Release Date: 48:49

Check out the song: “Anxiety Found Shape In Contradictions – Act II. Delusion”