NOISIA Releasing "Split The Atom: Special Edition" February 27 [News]

Noisia Following a watershed 2011, Dutch electronic music trio NOISIA is hitting 2012 hard with the release of SPLIT THE ATOM: SPECIAL EDITION, out digitally February 27 via the deadmau5-helmed mau5trap Recordings with a forthcoming physical release, including a limited edition version (details TBA). To promote the release, NOISIA will tour across Europe and then head stateside for a select run of shows which include performances at Coachella and New York City’s famed Webster Hall.

Known for their diverse and versatile electronic productions, NOISIA—comprised of Nik Roos, Thijs de Vlieger and Martijn van Sonderen—originally released their debut full-length album Split the Atom in 2010 via their own Vision/Division labels. Upon its release, Split the Atom quickly became the favorite album of the year for electronic superstar deadmau5, who handpicked NOISIA to join his independent mau5trap imprint for a special re-release.

A groundbreaking release in their career, Split the Atom illustrates the gamut of NOISIA’s abilities as electronic artists with tracks highlighting their production prowess in the realms of drum ‘n’ bass, electro house and breaks. SPLIT THE ATOM: SPECIAL EDITION takes that mentality to a whole new level featuring hard-banging remixes from some of today’s most in-demand and up-and-coming electronic artists. For SPLIT THE ATOM: SPECIAL EDITION, NOISIA enlisted a diverse array of producers/DJs to further expand the already genre-bending original: Kill The Noise takes the dirty wobble of “Diplodocus” and chops it up into a dubstep banger; Moombahton star Munchi reworks the dark and slow-burning “Tommy’s Theme” into a raging audio assault for his Munchi’s Fear Is Weakness Remix and dubstep kingpins Excision & Datsik join forces for a heavy reworking of “Alpha Centauri.” Other remixers include Neosignal, Posij, Kito, Loadstar, Current Value, Black Sun Empire, The Upbeats and 16bit.

To support SPLIT THE ATOM: SPECIAL EDITION, NOISIA will launch a string of spring dates throughout Europe prior to kicking off a select run of U.S. performances which include anticipated shows at this year’s Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival in Indio, CA, Sunday, April 15, and Sunday, April 22, as well as a headlining show at New York City’s Webster Hall Friday, April 13.

2011 proved a busy year for NOISIA. In addition to several high-profile remixes for the likes of Katy Perry (“E.T.”), deadmau5 (“Raise Your Weapon) and Labrinth featuring Tinie Tempah (“Earthquake), NOISIA also produced three original tracks on the hard rock-and-dubstep-fusing album The Path Of Totality from metal pioneers Korn. In addition, one of NOISIA’s original productions was also used in the official worldwide-released trailer of the summer blockbuster film Transformers: Dark of the Moon. In 2012, NOISIA will be included in the official soundtracks for several upcoming videogames, including WipEout 2048, one of the launch titles for the PlayStation Vita, and SSX Snowboarding from EA Sports. NOISIA will also produce the official full score for a forthcoming Triple A videogame and will release a remix of “Nothing Matters” by Mark Knight featuring Skin from Skunk Anansie (details on the videogame and remix releases TBA).

The track listing for NOISIA’s SPLIT THE ATOM: SPECIAL EDITION is:

  1. Machine Gun
  2. My World Feat. Giovanca
  3. Shitbox
  4. Split the Atom
  5. Thursday
  6. Leakage
  7. Hand Gestures Feat. Joe Seven
  8. Headknot
  9. Red Heat
  10. Shellshock Feat.Foreign Beggars
  11. Whiskers
  12. Alpha Centauri
  13. Soul Purge Feat.Foreign Beggars
  14. Diplodocus
  15. Paper Doll 1
  16. Dystopia
  17. Sunhammer Feat.Amon Tobin
  18. Stigma
  19. Square Feet
  20. Tommy’s Theme
  21. Could This Be
  22. Stigma (Neosignal Remix)
  23. My World (Posij Remix)
  24. Split The Atom (Kito Remix)
  25. Tommy’s Theme (Loadstar Remix)
  26. Soul Purge (Current Value Remix)
  27. Diplodocus (Kill The Noise Remix)
  28. Tommy’s Theme (Munchi’s Fear Is Weakness Remix)
  29. Thursday (Black Sun Empire Remix)
  30. Diplodocus (The Upbeats Remix)
  31. Alpha Centauri (Excision & Datsik Remix)
  32. Machine Gun (16bit Remix)


NOISIA (who took their name from the word VISION inverted on an upside down VHS tape) are Nik Roos, Thijs de Vlieger and Martijn van Sonderen, hailing from Groningen, The Netherlands. Influenced by an eclectic range of artists, from The Prodigy to James Brown, Miles Davis to Konflict, Tipper to Fatboy Slim, NOISIA make music for DJs and dance floors that is interesting enough to cross over from the clubs to your MP3 player. Releasing their first record in 2003 on SLR and releasing on every major drum ‘n’ bass label in the following years, 2005 saw Noisia establish their own label, Vision Recordings to put out their drum ‘n’ bass productions and collaborations and retain creative control of their music. In 2007, they established Division Recordings, a label for electro, house, breaks and dubstep. They then went on to establish Invisible Recordings in 2010, catering for the deeper and more experimental side of drum ‘n’ bass. Over the past few years, accolades for Noisia have included Best Tech DJ in the UK National D&B Awards in 2009 and 2010, Best Producers at the 2010 D&BArena Awards and Best Drum&Bass Artist on Beatport in both 2009 and 2010. NOISIA have worked with and remixed a number of diverse artists with notable tracks including, “Alice” by Moby, “Omen” by The Prodigy, “E.T.” by Katy Perry, “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites” by Skrillex, “Raise your Weapon” by deadmau5 and Hadouken, whose entire second album For The Masses was produced by NOISIA. NOISIA’s music has also been featured in several videogames, including their track “Groundhog” on DJ Hero, “Machine Gun” and “Seven Stitches” featured in three editions of the game WipEout and “Stigma” and “Yellow Brick” featured on Gran Turismo. They were also commissioned to make eight remixes especially for MotorStorm: Apocalypse, a triple-A racing game that was released in 2011.