Have you heard of Liquid Tension Experiment? If so… take away guitarist John Petrucci and you’re left with Tony Levin (King Crimson), Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater) and Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater), also known as Liquid Trio Experiment. These three united and jammed some new tunes for their album Spontaneous Combustion which released in 2007. What’s funny is that they misplaced the original masters so they recorded the album from Mike Portnoy’s digital audio tape recordings of the sessions… oops!

For this album the progressive fusion kings spawned 13 new tracks with all improvising done in studio. The songs sound much like Liquid Tension Experiment except for the lack of guitars. One member that sticks out in these recordings is drummer Mike Portnoy; he creates some excellent mixtures of drum beats for the others to play over. Tony Levin is also spectacular with funky bass lines that get backed up with Jordan Rudess’s keyboards. Spontaneous Combustion is a lot of funk and talent. I REALLY need to practice my instruments after hearing this release.

Track Listing:

01. Chris & Kevin’s Bogus Journey
02. Hot Rod
03. RPP
04. Hawaiian Funk
05. Cappuccino
06. Jazz Odyssey
07. Fire Dance
08. The Rubberband Man
09. Holes
10. Tony’s Nightmare
11. Boom Boom
12. Return Of The Rubberband Man
13. Disneyland Symphony

Run Time: 1:18:00
Release Date: October 23, 2007

Check out the song: “Jazz Odyssey”