Ahh, Art Of Dying. What can I say? I have been a big fan of the band even before their self-titled release in 2006 when very few people had heard of them. Such deeply meaningful and radio friendly tracks as “Get Through This,” “You Don’t Know Me,” “Inside It’s Raining” and “Completely,” were burned into my memory, programmed into my new artist lexicon, and imprinted on my musical compass as what good alternative rock should be.

Being a huge supporter of the Vancouver based band’s earlier work, I listened to their brand new album, Vices And Virtues (via Reprise Records in 2011) and found the very catchy and popular active rock radio song “Die Trying.”

Now for the bad news. The remaining songs are re-hashed tracks from their 2006 self-titled release, including “Get Thru This,” “Completely, ” “You Don’t Know Me” and “Raining.” To be quite honest, the mixes on these particular songs sound like shit. When comparing to their self-titled release, sonically there was something about those tracks that was raw, vibrant, and bad-ass; something that is cerebral and physical and that’s the way I like it! The mix on this current album sounds watered-down and doesn’t have enough balls at all!

Don’t get me wrong, I still love Art Of Dying and will continue to love this band, but anyone who is thinking of buying Vices And Virtues should instead purchase the current single “Die Trying,” and then buy their 2006 self-titled release. While opinions are like assholes and everyone has one, that’s my two cents on this offering! Bring on the hate mail!

Track Listing:

01. Die Trying
02. Get Thru This
03. Sorry
04. Whole World’s Crazy
05. Completely
06. I Will Be There
07. You Don’t Know Me
08. Raining
09. Best I Can
10. Straight Across My Mind
11. Breathe Again

Run Time: 42:27
Release Date: March 22, 2011

Check out the song: “Die Trying”