Being a huge Corrosion Of Conformity fan, I was very excited at the chance to review the band’s new, upcoming self-titled album. While the current COC lineup consists of the same trio (Mike Dean, Woody Weatherman, Reed Mullin) that brought you the album, Animosity back in 1985, that in no way detracts from this disc.

Instrumentally this just might be their best work to date: it combines all of the great things fans have come to love about COC and then some. You still have the awesome guitar tones and riffs that COC is known for, yet there’s also a hint of Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden and Slayer permeating the music. Some tracks will bring about instant thoughts of “classic COC” as soon as the first note starts while others will leave you totally impressed. For example, “Doom” features some seriously impressive drumming only proving these guys are as good as ever, even after all these years.

And for anyone who might be concerned about how the vocals sound, don’t be. Thanks to Mike Dean, this album definitely boasts vocal moments akin to those on Animosity. Overall, definitely a solid album and any fans, old and new, won’t be able to listen without a huge smile.

Track Listing:

01. Psychic Vampire
02. River of Stone
03. Leeches
04. el Lamento de las Cabras
05. Your Tomorrow
06. The Doom
07. The Moneychangers
08. Newness
09. What We Become
10. Rat City
11. Time of Trials
12. Canyon Man
13. The Same Way

Run Time: 43:07
Release Date: February 28, 2012

Check out the songs: “The Doom’ & ‘Time Of Trials”