What do you get when you mix Man With Target with Endast? You get Canadian metal band Exes For Eyes, comprised of Dave Sheldon (Man With Target, Annihilator) and Big James Arsenian (Endast, Authors). These two came together to create 9 pounding tracks which when put all together form the band’s debut album, The Amsler Grid.

Each song rips up a storm with tight guitar riffs, solid drumming and screaming vocals. I especially appreciate the guitar work as Dave never upstages anyone; he writes complicated riffs yet has a handful of simple pieces in his arsenal as well. James’s lines are structured with screaming, but the occasional sung part helps to mix things up nicely. This is for sure a tag team I would have never thought of putting together, but after listening to The Amsler Grid this terrific twosome successfully created one of my favorite albums of 2011.

Track Listing:

01. Feel Again
02. A Life So Unfulfilling
03. Exes For Eyes
04. Romanticize The Struggle
05. Stop Thinking, Start Feeling
06. Embrace The Fire
07. Chains
08. Dig For Higher Ground
09. A Horrible Mistake

Run Time: 47:40
Release Date: April 26, 2011

Check out the song: “A Life So Unfulfilling”