Lately, Southern Ontario has witnessed an increasing amount of extreme metal bands coming out of the woodwork. To name but a few: Exes For Eyes, Odium, Baptized In Blood and, of course, Misguided Aggression all come to mind. Flood The Common Ground is the second full-length from Woodstock’s Misguided Aggression and these guys are for sure another reason why Ontario is gaining the reputation of being a true metal hub.

With this sophomore release the group has fully embraced their grooves, focusing on making them as heavy as possible. To help add to the chaos, the instrumentals are more complex than before, adding new techniques to the mix; which all nicely overlayed by Rob DeMedeiros’ shrilling growls. On Flood The Common Ground, Misguided Aggression has stepped away from the mainstream metalcore sound they had challenging them musically. I hope they stop by the Oshawa area sometime so I get a chance to see these songs performed live.

Track Listing:

01. Intro
02. Winter Soldier
03. Chasing Sanity
04. The Visionary
05. The First Stone
06. Humility
07. Autonomy
08. Hidden Empire
09. Flood The Common Ground

Run Time: 26:24
Release Date: June 28, 2011

Check out the song: “Winter Soldier”