There aren’t many bands that can sustain longevity like Staind have; together now for 16 years with 7 albums under their belt. While you may not hear them as much on traditional radio, they’re still around in a big way. Their self-titled, seventh studio release has just dropped and reviews have been tricking in. Let me start by saying the band has sold over 15 million records worldwide and this album went straight to number 5 on the Billboard 200 chart. Moreover, out of six albums this is the fifth to crack the top 5.

Though I hadn’t heard any of the new tracks until I got this disc for review, I didn’t even make it past the second song to know that “Not Again” would be a hit. It’s actually their first single and will be a smash on the Mainstream Rock charts. It’s got all the classic Staind elements including Aaron Lewis’ distinctive voice (the band have always remained true to their sound, but still keep things fresh).

I’m not going to go through each track because you really need to give it a listen if you haven’t already. Thankfully, the disc overall is pretty heavy (going back to the days of Tormented, Dysfunction, and Break the Cycle) and is great for rocking out. I can’t help but wonder though if the last song “Something to Remind You”, is foreshadowing the band’s demise. Boasting ominous lyrics it plays like a suicide note at best. The music however, is peaceful and very beautiful. Faithful readers, rest assured that you will like this album.

Track Listing:

01. Eyes Wide Open
02. Not Again
03. Failing
04. Wannabe
05. Throw It All Away
06. Take a Breath
07. The Bottom
08. Now
09. Paper Wings
10. Something to Remind You

Run Time: 42:08
Release Date: September 13, 2011